Ratings and Recommendations

Sunday, May 8, 2011

Ferriss Trophy presentation on May 23

Sunday, May 8, 2011

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) ? The eighth annual Cellular South Ferriss Trophy will be presented on May 23 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.

The trophy is given to the state's top college baseball player. The three finalists and their coaches will gather at a luncheon at 11:30 a.m. with the ceremony beginning at noon.

Ole Miss pitcher Drew Pomeranz won the Ferriss Trophy last season after finishing with a 9-2 record, 2.24 ERA and 139 strikeouts in 100.2 innings. He was drafted by the Cleveland Indians with the fifth overall pick in June.

The trophy is named after longtime Delta State head coach Dave "Boo" Ferriss, who played with the Boston Red Sox.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Powered By WizardRSS.com | Full Text RSS Feed | Amazon Plugin | Hud Settlement Statement

View the original article here


Post a Comment